

## Media release

## Shane Rattenbury MLA

Attorney-General Minister for Consumer Affairs Minister for Water, Energy and Emissions Reduction Minister for Gaming

Member for Kurrajong

25 May 2021

## Government establishes advisory council for ACT community clubs

The ACT Government has established a new advisory council to help reduce the harm from gambling while building a long-term and sustainable clubs sector in the ACT.

The council is comprised of representatives from community clubs, organisations working to reduce gambling harm, and union stakeholders.

Minister for Gaming Shane Rattenbury, who will chair the ACT Community Clubs Ministerial Advisory Council, said the Council will play a key role in advising on implementing gambling harm reduction initiatives while also ensuring that community clubs continue to provide hubs for community connection and are sustainable for the long term.

The Council's work will focus on important initiatives included in the Parliamentary and Governing Agreement such as reducing gaming machine licences to 3500, introducing \$5 bet limits and \$100 load-up limits for gaming machines and enhancing the self-exclusion scheme.

"The ACT Government recognises that community clubs play an essential part in the social life of many Canberrans, as a meeting place and sponsor of community events," Minister Rattenbury said.

"We want to ensure clubs continue to support the community, while introducing and strictly enforcing measures to further reduce harm from gaming.

"Each club has its own unique objectives, membership and asset base, so it will be important to tailor support packages to suit these individual clubs.

"The Council will meet on a regular basis to ensure strong ongoing dialogue with clubs and other stakeholders to help develop a sustainable pathway for clubs in Canberra.

"Based on their diverse perspectives and experience, Council members will provide valuable insight into how we can support our local clubs while protecting vulnerable community members from gambling harm.

"I look forward to working with the Council on implementing these measures and appreciate the diverse perspectives and experience that the members will bring."

The Council includes stakeholder representatives with an interest in issues impacting Canberra's club industry:

- Ms Kim Marshall President, ClubsACT
- Mr Athol Chalmers Chair, Canberra Community Clubs
- Ms Lyndal Ryan Secretary, United Workers Union
- Ms Wendy Sandeman Financial Counsellor, Care Inc. Financial Counselling Service and Consumer Law Centre of the ACT
- Mr Jeremy Halcrow Founder and Co-chair, Canberra Gambling Reform Alliance
- Ms Kate Seselja Founder, The Hope Project
- Mr Geoff McKay President, Canberra Bowling Club
- Ms Mary Collier President, Canberra Irish Club
- Mr Brian Weir President, Canberra Labor Club
- Mr Thomas Stevens Director, Design and Communications, The Youth Coalition of the ACT
- Ms Yu-Lan Chan Chief Executive Officer, ACT Gambling and Racing Commission

The first meeting of the Council will occur on Wednesday (26 May).

The establishment of the Council also delivers on a priority commitment in the ACT Government's Parliamentary and Governing Agreement.

## Statement ends

Media contact:

Lachlan Roberts M 0481 035 764 E Lachlan.Roberts@act.gov.au

**ACT Legislative Assembly** 

E rattenbury@act.gov.au

P (02) 6205 0005

Twitter @ShaneRattenbury Facebook shanerattenburymla Instagram shanerattenbury